Art and the Will of the Artist

For my Art & Christ class, we have moved on from researching snippets of the history of art, and have now begun a book by Rowan Williams (who officiated the wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton!) titled Grace & Necessity: Reflections on Art & Love. I’m not going to lie – it is a tough read. There are many times I find myself reading sentences 2, 3, maybe 4 times before I grasp what Williams is saying, and even then I cannot fully comprehend his ideas. That, however, is the beauty of the book. You really have to focus in on the reading, with no other distractions present, and the layers upon layers of juicy, thought-provoking concepts make themselves known. Honestly, this book is a goldmine of artistic and theological treasure, and it has been transforming how I think about what being an artist means (and we have only read one chapter!).

One concept in Grace & Necessity that I find particularly compelling is the idea comparing art and the will of the artist. Williams references the writings of Jacques Maritain, in which Maritain states that art is more “intellectual” than prudence, prudence referring to the human good (15). Art’s intent is not on the delightful or good. Therefore, it does not matter what kind of person is making art, whether they are crazy, killers, saints, housewives, etc. For example, Amerighi da Caravaggio is a renowned Italian Baroque painter, oftentimes studied in Art History courses for his use of chiaroscuro. His work is undeniably beautiful and powerful, yet Caravaggio had a personal life full of dysfunction. He was put in jail numerous times, killed a man, vandalized his own living quarters, and actually had a death warrant put on his head by the Pope. Yet he served his paintings, and he knew the art form well.

"The Call of St. Matthew" - Caravaggio www.dhspriory.org

“The Call of St. Matthew” – Caravaggio
http://www.dhspriory.org

“Good” art is created when the artist simply learns to love the work, do the work, and serve the work. Williams states that the “activity of the artist does have a serious moral character simply because it pushes aside the ego and the desire of the artist as individual (15-16).” He states as well that the “artist as artist is not called on to love God or the world or humanity, but to love what he or she is doing (15).” Carl Jung, in his book Modern Man in Search of a Soul, speaks on this issue as well. He writes:

“Whenever the creative force predominates, human life is ruled and molded by the unconscious as against the active will, and the conscious ego is swept along on a subterranean current, being nothing more than a helpless observer of events. The work in process becomes the poet’s fate and determines his psychic development.”

Ergo, if the artist is putting aside his or her own will in order to create the art well, the art will have its integrity intact and it will undoubtedly shape the artist in the creation process. The art, then, will be capable of exhibiting beauty, and could have the capacity to make a difference in the world.

Of course, I must point out that Williams claims that art created for the sole intent of exhibiting beauty or changing the world will fail to do so. Maritain actually explains that creating art in order to change the world is the moral fallacy that many artists fall victim to (16). This is difficult to accept because I know that I, as an artist, hope that my art will make a difference in the world, if even in a small way. However, if that is the main purpose for why I create, Williams points out that the good of the work is compromised (14).

While searching for "art that changed the world," I found this comic strip. I believe it suits this idea well.

A fitting comic strip for this idea.
http://www.mimiandeunice.com

We discussed this idea a bit in class, and an observation was made that really resonated with me. As mentioned earlier, the artist needs to simply do the work and serve the work, respecting its integrity. We must simply do what we are in control of well. I am a potter, and I have reached a point where I have come to know the clay fairly well and have formed a relationship with it. Therefore, if I want to make art with integrity, I must continue to create with clay, and make each pot well. This requires my time, my attention, and my sacrificing of my own will in order to allow the clay to become what it needs to become.

As people, we must all do well what we are in control of. Whether that means loving our friends, spouse or children well, taking care of a plant well, or making sure that the coffee being made and served to a customer is the best of the barista’s ability, if each task is done intentionally and thoughtfully, we can make a difference in everyday life. In doing so, a person’s life itself is becoming an art, as it will begin to exhibit beauty and change the world. Perhaps this is not what Williams was trying to say, but for me it is meaningful, and in the deep sea of wisdom and philosophy that is Grace & Necessity, it is a tidbit I can understand and apply to my own life as an artist.

Sources:

“Caravaggio.” Wikipedia. Wikimedia Foundation, 10 Sept. 2013. Web. 10 Oct. 2013. <http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caravaggio&gt;.

Jung, Carl G. Modern Man in Search of a Soul. New York: Harcourt, Brace & World, 1933. 168-71. Print.

Williams, Rowan. Grace and Necessity: Reflections on Art and Love. Harrisburg, PA: Morehouse, 2005. Print.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art and the Will of the Artist

  1. Very thoughtful Ruby. You taught me even more about Caravaggio, I did not know Father Williams officiated that oh-so-famous wedding, and I like that you pulled in the Jung quote as well. I have to wonder if Jung’s thinking plays at least a bit into Williams’ thoughts, wouldn’t. Even the artist we talked about today, Eric Gill, speaks to the truth your pointing out that morally bad individuals can still make good work. Very well written and thoughtful, and I enjoyed the personal application.

    If it’s any consolation to how hard the read is, I was trying to read your blog with music on with words and had to change it to just instrumentals because I couldn’t concentrate on what you had written! So your thoughtful writing takes some concentration as well. That comic strip you found is very fun, and true!

  2. jbareither10 says:

    Rachel,

    I am really inspired by your last paragraph in it’s entirety. Something that I have been reflecting on as of late is the idea of art as an act of worship to God, as well as everything that I do. It’s hard for me to see a lot of what I do as worship, even if I am “committing it to the Lord,” or attempting to give it up to the Lord. The idea of doing everything with extreme intentionality is something that I have really been striving to do well this year as an RA, friend, and artist too, so I really appreciate your comments about striving to do the same in your life. Thanks again!

Leave a comment